Election of Vanuatu’s New President Underway

As PNG is in the midst of election, fellow Melanesians in Vanuatu are also awaiting the outcome of who their new president will be.

This follows the passing of late Baldwin Lonsdale early June, after serving as the President of Vanuatu for the last three years.

A total of 16 candidates nominated for the position – candidates include former prime ministers, politicians, public servants, and even a pastor who is the lone female.

After the first round at Vanuatu’s Parliament Chamber on Monday, Maxim Carlot Korman had the highest number of votes (9).

Mr Korman is a former Prime Minister and the country’s first Speaker of Parliament after independence.

Following behind were Lui Patu Navuko and Solomon Laurence with 6 votes each.

Second round of voting commenced this morning, with unofficial results showing Talis Obed Moses on top, followed by Maxim Carlot Korman and Sam Dan Avock with the third highest number of votes.

The third round took place this afternoon at 4 o’clock, however a decision was not made because the Vanuatu electoral college did not meet the two-thirds majority. The results showed 32 votes for Tallis Obed Moses, 22 for Maxim Carlot Korman, and 3 single votes.

Chief Justice of Vanuatu announced that the next voting will be tomorrow morning.

Email this to someonePrint this pageShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on TumblrShare on LinkedIn
Kiwiana Ngabung

Kiwiana Ngabung

graduated from Datec Learning Centre in 2014 and has since been a contributor with EMTV Online. Her favourite aspect of working for the online team is creating stories that are read and shared by people around the world.

Leave a Reply